If I Picked The Winners…(2013 Grammys)

20130210-184251.jpg
Well…tonight’s the night that the Grammy Awards parade out a ton of artists to perform live and will showcase quite a few acts that I’ve been listening too for the past couple years. I realize it’s late and that truthfully no one really cares, but while my kids are watching The Disney Channel, I figured I’d crank out MY picks to win a Grammy this year…

RECORD OF THE YEAR: Gotye – “Somebody I Used To Know”
Despite the fact that it came out in 2011, “Somebody” is a great song and deserves the honor. If not, then Black Keys “Lonely Boy” wins!

ALBUM OF THE YEAR: The Black Keys – “El Camino”
LOVE this album and I must have worn it out…back in the summer of 2011? What is going on here?

SONG OF THE YEAR: Miguel – “Adorn”
This entire album is pretty strong and despite the fact that “Adorn” didn’t make my Top 50, I still consider it one of the best on the album.

BEST NEW ARTIST: The Lumineers
I’m not sold on the sound, but this band seems to be making waves right now.

BEST POP SOLO PERFORMANCE: Carly Rae Jepsen – “Call Me Maybe”
You kidding? It was EVERYWHERE last summer. It HAS to win.

BEST POP DUO PERFORMANCE: Maroon 5 – “Payphone”
Believe or not, I kinda liked this song before I heard it 3,789,532 times.

BEST DANCE RECORDING: Swedish House Mafia – “Don’t You Worry Child”
I kinda dig it and it WOULD have made my Top 100…if I had gone that deep into it.

BEST ROCK PERFORMANCE: The Black Keys – “Lonely Boy”
Loved this song, love the album, love the band!

BEST ROCK SONG: The Black Keys – “Lonely Boy”
Everyone is rooting for The Boss and I kinda dug the Muse song also but Black Keys will be what I’m listening to 10 years from now.

BEST ROCK ALBUM: The Black Keys – “El Camino”
Going for the sweep…

BEST ALTERNATIVE MUSIC ALBUM: Goyte – “Making Mirrors”
It’s a really good album and despite some strong competition from Fiona Apple’s latest (which I listened to on ITunes and wasn’t impressed), I’d like to see this one take the prize!

BEST URBAN CONTEMPORARY ALBUM: Miguel – “Kaleidoscope”
I like it better than Frank Ocean’s “Channel Orange” and Chris Brown is a jerk.

BEST COUNTRY SOLO PERFORMANCE: Carrie Underwood – “Blown Away”
Love this track (it’s in my Top 50) and it deserves to win!

BEST COUNTRY SONG: Eli Young Band – “Even If It Breaks Your Heart”
Mostly because it’s written by Will Hoge and I’ve met the guy and he’s pretty cool! Other than that, I like “Blown Away” here also…

BEST TROPICAL LATIN ALBUM: Romeo Santos – “Formula Vol 1”
Just kidding….I have no idea….

So there you have it…MY picks for this year’s Grammy awards! Wonder how it will go down…

1 Comment

  1. Believe it or not, I’ve never heard the Maroon 5 song, and I heard the Carly Rae Jepsen song for the first time at the Arthur Ashe Kids day.

    But i like Goyte (and my son interviewed him for his blog (i think the interview is on ourvinyl.com.)

    I like the Black Keys, too, but the Boss has to win… he’s the Boss for chrissakes!

    I also enjoyed the Lumineers sound… I guess I like real musicians playing real instruments… call me crazy!

Leave a Reply

