Tegan & Sara Make Changes…For The Better

teganandsara

The Quin sisters have been releasing music for a while now and it has traditionally been indie-alternative songs. Over the last couple of years, they have been dabbling with synthesizers and dance tracks and today they release their 7th album, “Heartthrob,” and I’m happy to report that this album is an awakening for this twin duo. I’ve always liked their sound but as they went along from album to album, it seemed not so much that their sound was getting stale as it was simply stagnant. At it’s peak, their 2004 album, “So Jealous,” was the epitome of their sound with classics “Walking With A Ghost,” “So Jealous,” and “Where Does The Good Go” hitting the airwaves as well as television, with some songs being selected for shows such as “Grey’s Anatomy” and “The L Word.” Since then though, I found their albums, 2007’s “The Con” and 2009’s “Sainthood,” to be a lot of the same thing. Not that there is anything wrong with that…if you’re good at something, sometimes it’s good to stick with it. But in T&S’s case, I wasn’t as impressed and started to lose interest.

Then came this morning. I knew changes were in store when the duo teamed up with Tiesto in 2009 for the awesome track, “Feel It In My Bones.” This peaked my interest in them again and then last year they released “Closer” and I was excited to see what they came up with for their new album that was released today. Needless to say, I am not disappointed. So refreshing to hear when a band takes its essence to a higher level and that is what Tegan & Sara have done here. They have added more synthesizers (who ISN’T these days?) and made their sound more radio-friendly with tracks such as “Love They Say,” “I Was A Fool” and “Goodbye, Goodbye.” Most of these tracks could have come straight from the late 80’s, each one has a refreshing pop sound that is missing from so many alternative acts these days.

Needless to say, I’m sure “Heartthrob” will be burning up my Ipod for the next few months. I imagine a couple of these tracks may even end up as my favorites this year but it’s early. For now though, this album will get me through the winter doldrums and I can’t wait to see where T&S take it from here! Considering how much they’ve evolved to this point, the ceiling is very high for this Canadian sister act!

Leave a Reply

