RIP Adam Yauch

In the summer of 1987 (my high school senior year), I bought “Licensed To Ill.” With “You Gotta Fight (For Your Right To Party)” being such a HUGE hit, I HAD to have the entire album and to this day, that album remains one of my all-time favorite party albums. So it was with heavy heart that I heard that Adam Yauch (aka MCA) had passed away after almost 3 years of cancer treatment.

The great thing about Yauch, as well as his Beasties brothers, Adam Horovitz (Ad Rock) and Mike Diamond (Mike D), is that they never wavered from their convictions OR their eclectic taste in music, creating  groovy tracks and punk rock with an energy few can match. Adding to their legacy is all the humanitarian efforts that they have taken part in, particularly Yauch, who was a major component in the Milarepa Foundation’s Tibetan Freedom Benefit concerts.

Rest In Peace, MCA. Your legacy and your music has survived 3 generations and will live long in musical history. When the man sang…

“If you can feel what I’m feeling then it’s a musical masterpiece/ If you can hear what I’m dealing with then that’s cool at least/ What’s running through my mind comes through in my walk/ True feelings are shown from the way that I talk”

It was 100% true.

Time to pass the mic, MCA. Gone but never forgotten…

 

Leave a Reply

