Active Child…Terrible Name, Awesome Song

Last week the album “You Are All I See” by Active Child dropped and ITunes featured one of the songs as a freebie. Having never heard of the band, I did some research and discovered that Active Child isn’t really a “band” but artist Pat Grossi, who is one of a slew of new artists who are using their laptops to create their music. For this album though, Grossi hit the studio and made some alt-pop ambiance music that, according to his website, “sounds cosmically huge and yet intimate all the same.” I haven’t listened to the rest of the album but, in the case of this first single, that is definitely a good description. I’ll have to check out more of Grossi’s work a little later on but for now…here is “Hanging On” by Active Child. I’m 99% sure this one is gonna be one of my favorites of 2011…

You know we can get away
Because I’m calling your name
Every day I feel this pain
But you just turn and walk away

I just can’t keep hanging on
To you and me
I just don’t know what is wrong
With you and me

Touch me and then turn away
Put your hands into the flame
Tell me if you feel this pain
‘Cause I don’t want to be a ball and chain

I just can’t keep hanging on
To you and me
I just don’t what is wrong
With you and me
With you and me

I just can’t keep hanging on
To you and me
I just don’t know what is wrong
I just can’t keep hanging on
To you and me
I just don’t know what is wrong

Leave a Reply

