Tunes From ITunes: Beating The Heat

It’s the dreaded summer swoon when it’s too hot to go outside unless you’re at the pool and all the plant-life around your house is drying up and turning to tumbleweeds (unless you actually water your plants…which we don’t). So what do I like to do? Spend my hard-earned money on music. And I’ve been a very bad boy when it comes to sharing my favorite music. So let’s get to it, shall we?

Teddybears – “Rocket Scientist” (pop/dance)
Funky new track with a serious attitude. Eve guest stars and as the ‘Bears proclaim “Them drum machines ain’t got no soul”…they obviously have tongue planted firmly in cheek. I also downloaded “Cho Cha” which features Cee Lo Green and it also adds a small dose of humor with a cool beat.

Nicole Scherzinger feat. 50 Cent – “Right There” (pop)
I’ve been hearing this one all over the radio and it’s high on the list for “dumbest lyrics of the year” award, however there’s something that I like about it once it gets past that. Catchy hook but beyond that…very sugary with lots of aftertaste.

Evaline – “Beneath The Fire” (rock)
Love me some guitar anthem rock and this band supplies it. Soaring vocals and a dramatic drumbeat, this freebie is in my playlist right now but I doubt it will be there for very long.

Matt Nathanson – “Mercy” (alternative pop)
Catchy tune (and one in a long line with the title “Mercy”) and goes well with sour lemonade.

Ziggy Marley – “Forward To Love” (reggae)
The prodigal son returns with this catchy ditty. Easy on the ears and will go well when you’re hanging by the pool bar.

Florrie – “Begging Me” (dance pop)
This track should be bigger. Don’t know why no one has picked up on this fun pop song but I have yet to hear it on pop radio. The entire EP is good but this is the diamond. Download it now if you like pop music…

Laza Morgan – “This Girl” (pop reggae)
Hmmm…how I ended up downloading this one, I’m not sure but I like the slight reggae beat and the pop sound.

Eddie Vedder – “Longing To Belong” (adult alternative)
EV slows it down to a crawl and breaks out his ukelele for this sweet song. Not much to it but I like it. Of course I’d like just about anything this dude does…

Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. – “Morning Thought” (alternative)
Slow and methodical, it’s almost hypnotic how this song grabs me. I totally dig it and it reminds me a little of Phish.

Arctic Monkeys – “Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Seat” (rock)
Bluesy track with weird lyrics. You’ll either like it or you won’t. I like it…but in small doses.

Coldplay – “Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall” (pop)
This band is one of my favorites but they can do better than this track. It’s decidedly average but works for now. But I expect more if they’re getting ready to release a new album!

Joe Bonamassa – “Dust Bowl” (blues)
Originally released back in March, I LOVE this song. Awesome in every way. Download it now! And you might as well just get the entire album cause it’s that good!

Thievery Corporation – “Culture Of Fear” (trip hop)
Although TC isn’t really a rap group, they enlist various artists to work with them for many of their tracks on their new album. The title track is an awesome fusion of jazz and rap with Mr. Lif laying down the rap track. Excellent track!

THE SONG THAT WILL REMIND ME OF THIS SUMMER NO MATTER WHEN I HEAR IT: Nicki Minaj – “Super Bass” (pop/rap)
If only Nicki could have kept the lyrics a little cleaner this would have been the PERFECT summer track in the same vein as Taio Cruz’s “Break Your Heart” from last summer. Nevertheless…it is what it is and I love it. This song just bleeds “summertime pop” and I can’t help but turn it up everytime I hear it!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

