What The F*** Is Going On In Pop Music?!?

Apparently she LIKES it rough. Who knew?

Taking a look at this week’s chart-toppers on pop radio, it’s a veritable smorgasbord of  sexed up, foul-mouthed, overproduced crap that is obviously in tune to what sells records. And what would that would be? Sex and potty language apparently. No more need for quality lyrics or a decent hook….just go right for the jugular and give the kiddies what they came for. Here’s the list…

#1. Katy Perry – “ET”
With the lyrics…“Kiss me, kiss me/Infect me with your love/and Fill me with your poison/Take me, take me/Wanna be a victim/Ready for abduction”…it seems this song has nothing to do with the Steven Spielberg classic kiddie movie. Or extraterrestrials.

#2. Rihanna – “S&M”
Seeing as how Rihanna was a recent victim of abuse, it surprises me that she chose to release this title track from her latest album but apparently it doesn’t bother anyone else…including kids who are hearing THIS refrain on the radio…

“‘Cause I may be bad, but I’m perfectly good at it/Sex in the air, I don’t care, I love the smell of it/Sticks and stones may break my bones/But chains and whips excite me

Really? I realize that as a parent it’s my responsibility to watch what my kids listen to but when this song comes on the radio and my teenage neighbor is singing the lyrics it’s embarrassing. Why would anyone think it’s okay for anyone under the age of 18 to hear this song? Does this make me an old fuddy-duddy? Maybe. But seriously music industry? What kind of message is this sending? 

#3. Kesha – “Blow”
Even though the double entendre  is in full effect with this song, it’s actually just a dance track. The lyrics are tame compared to Rihanna’s sex-drenched song but Kesha still asks to “see them Hanes.” That I don’t mind so much but still…

#4. Black Eyed Peas – “Just Can’t Get Enough”
Can’t get enough what? Whatever. The BEP are so ridiculous and the lyrics are almost incoherent so anything sexual is kind of lost in the insanity of it all.

#5. Cee Lo Green – “F*** You”
This song was up for a Grammy and although I get the lyrics and what they’re all about, you have to wonder what is going through an 8-year olds’ mind when he hears…

“I guess the change in my pocket wasn’t enough I’m like,’F*** YOU!/And f*** her too.’/I said, ‘If I was richer, I’d still be with ya’ /Ha, now ain’t that some sh*t/And although there’s pain in my chest I still wish you the best/With a…’F*** YOU!'”

Now let me say, I’ve been heartbroken before so I get what the man is sayin’ but still…NOT for a 9-year old once again.

#6. Britney Spears – “Til The World Ends”
This song just sucks. So why anyone would WANT to listen to it is beyond me.

#7. Pink – F***ing Perfect”
Ya know…this song works perfectly well without the F-word and it’s a great song that speaks about inner strength and beauty. Don’t know why Pink chose to use the vulgarity in it but pop radio has done a good job editing it out and no one knows the difference.

#8. Jennifer Lopez – “On The Floor”
Eh. Whatever.

#9. Jeremih – “Put It On Me”
Well…here ya go…*sigh*

“She shaped just like an hour glass/she see how fast an hour passed/time flies when I’m on that ass/but I won’t put our sh*t on blast/work it like a pro pro pro/sit and watch it go go go/do her thing all on the floor/she bounce it fast and shake it slow/so sexual incredible/she beautiful she edible”

These lyrics aren’t exactly catering to the younger crowd either…

#10. Tinie Tempah – “Written In The Stars”
Uh…who?

And some other instant classics in the Top 25…Avril Lavigne’s “What The Hell,” Pitbull’s “Hey Baby (Drop It To The Floor)” and Mike Posner’s “Bow Chicka Wow Wow” (which is obviously a sex song but it’s at least done creatively).

So there’s some of the Top 25 for the week of April 25th. Sex has always been a selling point for the music industry and I get that, but where artists used to have to be creative about sex and chasing tail, now it’s all in my face. And my kids’ faces. I don’t care much for it. Isn’t there anyone (except for apparently Mark Posner) who is writing creatively about gettin’ busy? And what’s with all the cussing in music these days?

I remember when Nazareth sang about “messin’ with a son of a bitch” and thinking “Oooooohh…someone is gonna get their mouth washed out with soap!” But now? The word “bitch” is the least of my problems. Right Jay Z? I really, really WANT to like pop music but it’s really hard these days when it’s filled with this stuff. I can’t appreciate it. And I think it’s ridiculous that the music industry has let it get to this.

Clean it up…or I won’t be buying any more of your sh*t! Got it, motherf***ers????

Leave a Reply

