30 Day Song Challenge: A Song No One Would Expect You To Love


DAY 14: A Song No One Would Expect Me To Love

Let’s face it…rap and I get along but when it comes to 90’s gangsta rap? I’m not really that into it. Seriously…there’s nothing there for me to identify with. However, when 2Pac took the riff from one of my favorite Phil Collins songs and rapped about how rough life was in the hood, I could’t help but listen. It’s a scary & heartbreaking story and it was lyrics like these that made the man into a legend.

Now I was raised as a young black male
In order to get paid, forced to make crack sales
Caught a nigga so they send me to these overpacked jails
In the cell, countin days in this livin black Hell, do you feel me?
Keys to ignition, use at your discretion
Roll with a twelve gauge pump for protection
Niggaz hate me in the section from years of chin checkin
Turn to Smith and Wesson war weapons
Heavenly Father I’m a soldier, I’m gettin hotter
cause the world’s gettin colder, baby let me hold ya
Talk to my guns like they fly bitches
All you bustas best to run look at my bitches

(They got me) starin at the world through my rearview
Go on baby scream to God, he can’t hear you
I can feel your heart beatin fast cause it’s time to die
Gettin high, watchin time fly –
and all my motherfuckers/nigga can die

Leave a Reply

