Tunes From ITunes_Febru…er…March Edition


No…this is NOT the set of the latest “Walking Dead” episode…

Wow! February just flew by and now it’s March already??? What happened? Oh well…March Madness is in the air and I’ve been working too much but I’ve still had time to download some new music and if there’s one thing that keeps me plowing through these cold, winter months…it’s good music. So here are some tracks to keep you warm while the ice and snow start to melt outside…

Radiohead – “Separator” (alternative)
Hypnotic and beautiful, Yorke & Co. have come up with another instant classic! I have to admit though, the backing instrumental kind of reminds me of Dario Gands’ “Voices”…but it’s still excellent!

Bright Eyes – “Shell Games” (alternative)
The modern Bob Dylan strikes again with some fancy lyric work and a catchy tune. This is a must have and is one of Conor Oberst’s better tunes off the new album “The People’s Key.”

Hugo – “99 Problems” and “Bread & Butter” (alternative)
Yes…it is a spin on the Jay Z song with a banjo and a driving beat that keeps your toes tappin’. As for “Bread”…well…let’s just say it has some edge to it. Download them both and keep hoping this guy releases an entire album of this stuff!

Ryan Adams & The Cardinals – “No” (rock)
I LOVED Adams’ “Rock N Roll” album from a while back and although everyone likes his acoustic guitar stuff, I’m all about his electric guitar. This track rocks with the best of his best and I love the lyrics…
“No wonder I fell

Nobody was underneath me there to catch me
When I go under and down again and on and on…”

Mona – “Listen To Your Love” (rock)
Catchy refrain and some deft guitar work sets this track apart from many rock tracks. Never heard of this band but I’m gonna keep an eye on them, especially after this track!

The Twilight Singers – “Blackbird and the Fox” (alternative)
Not my favorite TS track but still so much better than some of the stuff out there. A little melodic piece from Greg Dulli’s “other” band.

Runner Runner – “Hey Alli” (pop)
Like so many pop rock bands that sing about love and heartbreak, this is one of many. However if you have kids who dig The Disney Channel, this ain’t so bad.

PT Walkley – “Save The World” (alternative)
Great song! Love the horn section in the middle. Love the lyrics. Love the violins. Just an all-around fantastic little song!

The Cave Singers – “Black Leaf” (rock)
HOLY CRAP! Stealng a little bit of thunder from The Black Keys, this song KICKS and THRASHES you around in a bluesy frenzy! LOVE IT!

Lupe Fiasco – “Words I Never Said” (rap)
Hmmmm…the jury’s still out on this one. Like the loping beat and the refrain by Skylar Grey, but there is something a little too familiar here…

Paul Simon – “The Afterlife” (pop)
What a great return single from the better half of the 70’s supergroup (?) Simon & Garfunkel. Sounding very much like his heyday of “Graceland,” this song is a MUST!

Fleet Foxes – “Helplessness Blue” (alternative)
Speaking of Simon & Garfunkel…this sounds like a track that could have been released in the 60’s. Simon & Garfunkel…step aside! Here’s your replacement! Very mellow and songwriter-ish.

Beady Eye – “Wigwam” (rock)
The latest from Oasis…er…maybe not? Apparently one brother skipped out so now it’s the rest of the band and a new name. Very exciting. However this track is not. Kind of slow and long. But it IS Oas…wait…I just covered this…

The Hundred In The Hands – “Lovesick (Once Again)” (alternative)
Very catchy song, reminds me of classic Heart a little. Without the Wilson sister range. But still…not a bad track!

Wiz Khalifa – “Black & Yellow” (rap)
I’m sorry…but I LOVE this song. Too bad its by a Pittsburgh rapper. But still…it’s EXCELLENT!

Foster The People – Pumped Up Kicks (alternative)
Almost too hip for itself, this track is catchy as hell and plays well in my car stereo!

White Lies – “Bigger Than Us” (alternative)
I absolutely loved “Death” from their previous album, “To Lose My Life.” This track isn’t quite as strong, but it’s still up to par. Give it a listen, tell me what you think!

Iration – “Fresh Grounds EP” (alt-pop-reggae)
5 tracks of pure pop/reggae awesomeness! I loved this band’s album “Time Bomb” last year and this just continues the trend!
Favorite Track: “Can’t Wait”

Wye Oak – “Civilian” (alternative)
How much do I love this song? Let me count the ways…

Raphael Saadiq – “Stone Rollin'” (blues)
It’s always refreshing to hear a little blues that tries to mix it up. This song smokes up the room with a little harmonica and female backup singers that give it a sexy tinge. LOVE IT!

R.E.M. – “UBerlin” (alternative)
Michael Stipe and the boys are back and this song kind of hints to a return to the R.E.M. of “Around The Sun.” Not a good thing. I really don’t like this song at all but it was free and I LOVE their classic 80’s stuff so I’ll give ’em the benefit of the doubt. There had to be a reason this was free in ITunes…right?

Telekinesis – “Car Crash” (alt-pop)
Great beat, great guitar, great sound. And the leader, Michael Benjamin Lerner, is from Seattle! LOVE IT!

S. Carey – “In The Dirt” (alternative)
I just love this song. Pretty piano with hand claps in the background. Kind of mellow in all the right ways. I dig it…

CLASSIC TRACK OF THE WEEK: The English Beat – “Tears Of A Clown”
What happens when you take a classic R&B song, add a reggae beat and bring the tempo up a few notches? Pure pop goodness! And The Beat know how to do a remake the right way!

 

1 Comment

  1. LOVE that Cave Singers song! Also, I heard a song a student was playing the other day and ran over and asked, “Hey, what’s that song and who sends it?” The answer? Black and Yellow by Wiz Khalifa. 🙂

    They are BOTH excellent songs, aren’t they? Thanks for reading Amy! Sometimes I wonder if anyone ever stops by…

Leave a Reply

