My Top 10 Favorite Album Covers

Album covers are a dying art form…right? No longer are the days of buying an album because the cover looks cool. But many years ago, I used to buy albums solely on their cover and many times I was greatly disappointed. However…the cover DID look pretty damn cool! Here are my Top 10 Favorite Album Covers. Oh…and for fun…a few extras that you can weigh in on…

10. The Darkness – One Way Ticket To Hell & Back (2005)


9. Asia – Alpha (1983)

8. Smashing Pumpkins – Mellon Collie & the Infinite Sadness (1995)

7. Counting Crows – Recovering The Satellites (1996)

6. Drivin N Cryin – Fly Me Courageous (1991)

5. Dave Matthews Band – Under The Table & Dreaming (1994)

4. The Eagles – Hotel California (1976)

3. The Cribs – Men’s Needs, Women’s Needs, Whatever (2007)

2. The Gutter Twins – Saturnalia (2008)

1. The Clash – London Calling (1979)

Is there a more iconic cover than this? I think not (well…maybe “Abbey Road.” But THIS cover speaks to me!)…

And now a few extras that I thought would add to the appeal of this particular subject…

Creepiest Cover

Most Inappropriate Cover That Made Me Laugh

Least Hottest Cover By A Band With Songs You’ve Heard On The Radio: Orleans

Hottest Cover By A Band With Songs No One Has Ever Heard:
The Sounds

The Album Cover Guaranteed To Ruin Whatever Sexual Thought You Might Have Had When Looking At The Previous Album Cover…

2 Comments

  1. If I can stop staring at “The Sounds” cover… I may be able to leave a comment. (this thought originated about half an hour ago…)

    ____

    Okay… here we are in the future.

    Now that I have regained my focus… Ok, I got it. Shit, I lost it.

    ___

    Forty five minutes later…

    I agree with The Clash – London Calling being #1. Very, very iconic and immediately recognizable!

    Also, Smashing Pumpkins – Mellon Collie & the Infinite Sadness is a sentimental one to me. It was one of those albums that I listened to every which way and know it inside and out… just a reminder of a different time. Thanks for the memories!

    I would like to add a couple of mine here too!

    🙂

    Rancid – … and out come the wolves

    Nine Inch Nails – Year Zero Remixed

    …and finally. I know you “mentioned it”, but c’mon it may be THE most iconic cover of all time!

    I really like that NIN cover. That’s pretty sweet and I don’t know that I’ve ever seen it before! As for Abbey Road…it IS the most iconic cover in R&R history, no doubt about that, but London Calling is probably in the Top 3 and it’s the one I identify with when it comes to my taste in music. I like the Beatles but that cover KICKS ASS! And so does the Sounds cover…LOL

  2. Well… It doesn’t look as though it let my HTML tags work to display the images. Here are links to aforementioned album covers:

Leave a Reply

