Tunes From ITunes_1.18.11 (Welcome To The New Year!)


We’re SO happy to be relevant!!!

2011.

Really? Already? Needless to say, I haven’t been on here much and I have been slacking as far as my little music blog here is concerned. Unfortunately, after the holidays, there’s really not a lot to talk about. Most of the good stuff has been released and the music industry goes into it’s long winter slumber. And considering the credit card bill for Christmas has arrived, there’s not much I can afford to buy anyways. But I think I’ve got a few tracks here that can liven up your winter blahs & your credit card blues. Here’s a look at some tuneage that should get your butt shakin’ and your ears quakin’!!! (I coulda been on the radio, doncha know…)

James Blunt – “These Are The Words” (pop)
Blunt has a distinct croon and this power pop song is perfect for the radio. Will it make it to the Top 50? Who knows (or cares) but I like this song. A little more uptempo for him and I like the lyrics.

The Limousines – “Internet Killed The Video Star” (electropop)
Oh come on now…you KNEW eventually this song was gonna have to happen. I just find it amusing that it was a no-name band that finally did it. Who are the Limousines? Well…they’re from San Francisco and they  released an album last year that included the song “Flaskaboozendancingshoes.” Good stuff…and I like the play on the old Buggles song even if this song sounds nothing like THAT historic track.

Toby Keith – “Bullets In The Gun” (country)
Has Toby gone U2 on me? Because THIS track is awesome and sounds like it could be HUGE in concert. LOVE the guitar and the story is classic country. LOVE it!

Edward Maya – “Stereo Love” (electronica)
This song has been stuck in my head and bouncing around for weeks. Seriously…if this song was any catchier you’d have to go to the doctor to get  a prescription.

Cee Lo Green – “Cry Baby” (r&b)
His “FU” song gets all the airplay but this is a gem and I’d LOVE to hear it on pop radio! I expect to see this album winning a bunch of Grammy’s…

Jon Hopkns – “Candles” (instrumental)
Featured in my favorite film of 2011, “Monsters”, this track is subtle and relaxing. And lately I’ve been needing more of that. So I downloaded it…and it’s beautiful.

Cage The Elephant – “Around My Head” (alternative)
A one-hit wonder? Probably not. “Ain’t No Rest For The Wicked” is a classic but from what I heard of this new album, called “Thank You Happy Birthday,” this Bowling Green, KY band is gonna be around for a long time. This was a freebie on ITunes a couple of weeks ago and I really dig it!

Young The Giant – “My Body” (rock)
With a slow guitar grind, this little rocker builds to a nice boil then assaults you! Another freebie and well worth the price I paid for it but if you didn’t get it, you’re missing out!

Social Distortion – “Machine Gun Blues” & “”California (Hustle & Flow)” (rock)
Classic rockers from a classic rock band. This band has been around since the mid-80’s and there’s a reason why: They are an awesome live act and they know where their money comes from. Tradition rock/blues tracks like these only enhance their already packed greatest hits lineup. Pick up the entire new album called “Hard Times & Nursery Rhymes.” You can’t go wrong.

Ra Ra Riot – “Too Dramatic” (alt-pop)
I’m not sure what drew me into this band or this song but it’s poppy and has a cool backbeat so I kinda dig it!

Duran Duran – “All You Need Is Now” (alt-pop)
Welcome back, D2! This has a weird intro that is typical of this band and I hear the new album is a return to their roots. If this song is any indication, it probably has several tracks that will remind you of their glory days and is a return to “Rio” which is a good thing!

Duran Duran – “Sin Of The City” (alt-pop)
Speaking of Duran Duran, listening to their new single made me wanna listen to some of their older stuff and this track off their 1993 “Wedding Album” is a bonus track that isn’t offered for sale on ITunes. It’s a great track that went unnoticed and if you happen to have that album you should revisit this track. It’s great!

Great Lake Swimmers – “She Comes To Me In Dreams” (alternative)
A tradition 80’s alt-sound that goes down great with a cup of coffee. I imagine I got this one from Starbucks or someplace and I like it!

Cross Canadian Ragweed – “Alabama” (country)
Released in 2004, a close friend of mine turned me onto this song and I love it. Great country rock track and the lyrics speak of a long distance love that burns brightly.

Hedley – “Scream” (pop)
This could be Hanson or any other pop boy band out there but I kinda like this song. Good workout track.

CLASSIC OLDIE OF THE WEEK: Joe Jackson – “I’m The Man”  (alt-rock)
If there ever was a question of Jackson’s influence (or Elvis Costello for that matter), check out this classic track that is a great memory of the way music used to be made. I would love to see him perform this one in concert!  And it’s also a great workout song…

DON’T BOTHER UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR EARS TO BLEED ALBUM OF THE WEEK: Band From TV – “Hoggin’ All The Covers”
Seriously? This is karaoke at it’s absolute WORST. Apparently this is a band that is made up of actors from your favorite tv shows (not mine) and the proceeds go to charity, but this is TERRIBLE! I listened to a few snippets and my head started to hurt and my knees got weak. Whatever you do…do NOT download any of this drivel. It’s horrible and whoever is responsible for releasing it should be shot. Just send your money to the charity itself and save your ears from the hate.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

