Britney vs The Bellamy Brothers???

VS
Gee…what do YOU think…?

Oh look…Britney Spears has a new #1 single on ITunes this week and it’s her latest single release called “Hold It Against Me.” I’ve heard it and quite frankly…it’s terrible. In the usual Britney over-synthesized vocals she sings ridiculous lyrics like this…

Gimme something good
Don’t wanna wait I want it now (na-na-now)
Pop It like a hood
And show me how you work it out

You feel like paradise and I need a vacation
If I said I want your body now, would you hold it against me.

Um…no.

Look…I can’t say I HATE Britney Spears because, quite frankly, between her and Lady Gaga, there is so much fodder for comedians and critics that its hard to say that she means nothing to the music industry. Actually, on the contrary, everything about her screams “PAY ATTENTION TO ME!” and we do. So in that way, she helps the music industry by just being herself. But her music has sucked for well over 10 years now and the electronic drivel that she’s been producing does absolutely nothing for me. That being said, this latest BREAKING NEWS FLASH from Popeater (and other sites, I’m sure) that Britney is being “looked into” by country crooner, David Bellamy, for stealing his lyrics. Lyrics he wrote some 30 years ago.

Oh come on.

30 years ago??? And now, because some pop princess has recorded a song that includes the words “…body would you hold it against me” it’s possible lawsuit material? Because she doesn’t even SAY the same line as the Bellamy Brothers did when they recorded their MEGA-HIT “If I Said You Had A Beautiful Body” back in 1979. Their lyrics say “If I said you had a beautiful body would you hold it against me?” Britney’s version says “If I said I want your body now, would you hold it against me.” It’s NOT the same thing! But someone has decided it’s the same CONCEPT and so now Britney is being put under the microscope ONCE AGAIN and the amount of noise this could make will, once again, allow her to retain the spotlight that she so desperately does not deserve.

Why does this continue to happen? Seriously…maybe if we just stopped buying her crap and then the paparazzi stopped following her, maybe she would just disappear…POOF…into the quietness of nothing, never to be heard from again. That would be so nice. But nooooooo…David Bellamy HAS to get HIS feathers all riled up and now Britney gets this free publicity and now everyone wonders what the hubbub is about and they buy Brit’s new single AND the old Bellamy Brothers tune to compare and they end up making more money off that single….

Oooooooooh….wait a minute….NOW  I get it…

Okay….so here’s the deal…SAVE your $2 and check out BOTH songs right here and tell me…what is the comparison? YOU be the judge…

Safe to say…they both suck. The end.

1 Comment

  1. Ugtbk…sorry, I just almost yaked. Brit doe smithing for me. I can say I hate her music without a prob 🙂

    As for the other dudes… Meh.

Leave a Reply

