Top 40 Favorite Songs Of 2010


Most disappointing artist of 2010? Unfortunately…yes. I expected bigger & better things…

What a strange and wonderful year for music. So many great singles, so few great albums but so much to choose from! And I DID choose a lot. I’m pretty sure I downloaded over 200 songs and a boatload of albums off ITunes. With music becoming so easily accessible, it’s hard for a guy like me to NOT download too much. Seriously…having ITunes on my phone KILLS me. Anyway, here are what I consider to be MY favorite tracks from 2010.

40. The Weepies – “How Do You Get High” (alternative)
Boppy number from this notoriously slow ballad band. Bounces around and is a nice change for them.This is about as exciting as this married couple get!

39. Circa Survive – “I Felt Free” (alternative)
Don’t really know much about this band but heard this track on Pandora months ago and it has stuck with me. I like the lyrics and the anthemic sound. Good track! Check it out!

38. Passion Pit – “Let Your Love Grow Tall” (alternative pop)
I dig this track. Gotta a nice beat…and I can dance to it. ‘Nuff said.

37. T.I. – “Welcome To The World” (rap)
T.I. had a good year with getting out of jail and then dropping this album that was smokin’ hot! He has 2 tracks in my favs this year but really the whole album is top shelf!

They’re here to make you think about death and get sad and stuff!!!

36. Sex Bob-Omb – “Threshold” (rock)
Is this a real band? Eh…who cares when the music ROCKS like this! Straight from the “Scott Justice vs The World” soundtrack, this track grabs you by the ears and kicks you in the gut. Love it!

35. Anberlin – “Impossible” (pop rock)
Power rock pop that is impossibly peppy and is obviously right up my alley. Yep…that’s THIS track. And I don’t apologize for it.

34. Grace Potter & The Nocturnals – “Hot Summer Night” (rock)
Seriously…this chick has got some serious pipes and considering how cold it is right now…I could use a little of THIS action!

33. Atomic Tom – “This Is How We Like To End” (alternative)
This was a surprising track for me, but I really like it and I like the words. Sad and yet somehow hopeful.

32. Taio Cruz feat Ludacris – “Break Your Heart” (pop)
Nothing defines my summer like this song. My kids love it and admittedly…so do I. It’s repetitive and catchy and I still find myself bopping my head along to it every time I hear it.

Sure…why not?

31. Crystal Bowersox – “Kiss Ya” (rock)
I don’t know what the future holds for this American Idol runner-up, but I’ve always thought she has an amazing voice and this track highlights her ability to hit the high notes. It rocks and so does she!

30. M.I.A. – “Believer” (alternative)
Is she fascinating? Overrated? Weird? Who cares? this song is TRIPPY and it lopes along in a weird funk, dripping with sexuality. I get it. Even if I don’t get her…

29. Greg Laswell – “Take Everything” (adult contemporary)
Something about this guy I really like and this song is sad and yet hopeful at the same time. If you like David Gray (which I do), you will like Greg Laswell.

28. Hanson – “Thinking ‘Bout Something” (pop)
Before you start thinking me crazy, go LISTEN to it yourself! Pop in all of its glory! Yeah…I know, I know…”MmmmBop” is annoying and the IDEA of liking these guys is slightly annoying but LISTEN to it and tell me you’re not shaking your ass and I’ll call you a liar. Oh…and it’s kind of a sad song…which makes it even more interesting…

27. Broken Bells – “The Mall and Misery” (alternative)
With simple cords and a poppy chorus, this song has been stuck in my head for months. With the lead singer of The Shins and the producer Danger Mouse, this reminds me of a modern “Simon & GarFUNKel.”

26. Stereoside – “Life Goes On” (rock)
I love me some rock and this single reminds me of classic 80’s hairband rock. Hailing from Florida, this band could almost be mistaken for Whitesnake! And that is pretty cool…

25. Justin Bieber – “Somebody To Love” (pop)
Well crap. Look…I don’t care what you say about this kid, he IS pop right now. And with Usher producing, this single is easily one of my favorite pop tracks of the year.

24. Kings Of Leon – “The Immortals” (rock)
I was so glad to hear that the Kings followed up their awesome “Only By The Night” with a comparable followup in “Come Around Sundown”. It’s different in all the right ways and very arena rock oriented and this is my favorite track off the album.

23. Frightened Rabbit – “Nothing Like You” (alternative)
What a unique and strange voice, but Scott Hutchinson knows how to put together a great song. This track moves at a frantic pace and is one of FR’s best!

22. Iration – “Wait & See” (pop/reggae)
My favorite new band of the year, this southern Cali band was a refreshing wave that had me hooked all summer long. I wore out their album “Time Bomb” and this track is one of the reasons.

21. JP, Chrissie & The Fairground Boys – “If You Let Me” (rock)
Chrissie Hynde IS the female voice of rock n roll and this track confirms it. Sultry and forceful at the same time, this track highlights everything about her that I love. Classic song about unrequited love…which ALWAYS makes for a great pop song!

20. Outasight – “Catch Me If You Can” (alt-rap)
Richard Andrew is doin’ something right and this hybrid of rap and funky soul is right up my alley. I can’t wait to hear what his new album sounds like but he released a 6 track EP back in May and this song has been on heavy rotation on my IPod ever since.

19. Vampire Weekend – “Cousins” (alternative)
This song is like listening to a hummingbird, it bops and bounces all over the place! And with that now famous Vampire Weekend verve, it sucks you in and shakes you along with it.

18. Kanye West – “Power” (rap)
From the first note it hooks you then Kanye kicks it with a siren wail and a blistering rap. Seeing as how he has somehow made good on the “Taylor Swift incident,” I guess it’s safe to say he’s back…and still kinda pissed off and full of himself. But what’s a rap track without a little bit of bravado, right?

17. Metric – “Black Sheep” (rock)
This little track appeared on the “Scott Pilgrim vs the World” soundtrack and it stuck in my head immediately! ¬†Sounding a lot like “Garbage” back in the day, I totally loved Metric’s album from last year and now I can’t wait for the next Metric album to drop.

16. Arcade Fire – “City With No Children In It” (alternative)
This album got all kind of props this past year from the music community. Personally, I thought it was ok, but not the “White Album.” This track, however, is right up my alley and I like the message.

15. OK Go – “White Knuckles” (pop)
Coming across sounding like Prince, this jam is quirky, loud and funky! If you need a reason to shake your booty…this is it!

14. Deerhunter – “Desire Lines” (alternative)
I could listen to this song over & over again. It reminds me of 90’s Smashing Pumpkins lite. Not too hard but not so slow either. It’s just right. And I dig the lyrics…

13. Mike Posner – “Please Don’t Go” (pop)
This guy is smoooooth and this pop concoction is the perfect track for wooing the women. Nice beat, slick lyrics and the kid from Duke shows that he knows how to put together some good pop music.

12. The Black Keys – “Howlin’ For You” (rock)
Dirty, grungy bluesy rock track from Akron’s new favorite sons. This band is HOT right now with a summer tour with Kings Of Leon and several appearances at key festivals, they are finally getting the attention they deserve.

11. T.I. – “Ya Hear Me” (rap)
After spending some time in jail, T.I. decided to write an album that documented his feelings on being in the lockup. This is a highlight off a pretty damn good album! Kicks in all the right places and T.I. shows he’s not gonna let anything slow him down!

I know it’s not HER song…but work with me here…

10. Eminem feat Rihanna – “Love The Way You Lie” (rap/pop)
Overplayed? Yes. But there isn’t another song out there with more compelling lyrics this year and Rihanna’s soulful chorus makes it resonate even more.

Yeah…I got nuthin’…

9. Katy Perry – “Teenage Dream” (pop)
I know, I know…I got a lot of pop songs in here but my kids are at an age where they are loving the pop and I have to listen to what THEY listen too and quite frankly…I like ALL these songs! Katy Perry was HUGE this year and this song is a big reason why. It’s a love song with some sexual edge to it and that makes for one of the best pop songs of the year!

8. Third Day – “Make Your Move” (rock)
Listed as Christian Rock, I don’t think so. This is blues rock at its best! With a nasty bassline and wicked drums, I think this is one of those songs you grind too in a dirty bar somewhere. Christian rock? Huh….I doubt it.

7. Iration – “Time Bomb” (reggae pop)
This southern Cali band is making a play for my favorite album of the year with the title track coming up just short for my favorite song of the year! But this entire album is awesome and hit at just the right time for me. This song of a girl on a destructive path is perfect in every way and is definitely a must hear!

6. Big Boi – “Daddy Fat Sax” (rap)
Sweet jam with some of the slickest lyrics this year, Big Boi cranks the funk and jams! Who needs Outkast when you have 2 individual artists cranking out such great music! LOVE this track!

5. Linkin Park – “When They Come For Me” (rock)
Some would argue they’ve lost their edge but for me, this track is what alt-rock is all about. With their middle finger high in the air, Linkin Park tackles all the naysayers and brings it with a hot bassline and a vicious rap.

4. Atomic Tom – “The Moment” (alternative)
Something about this song that really appeals to me. It has an 80’s alternative sound and the lyrics about that one second when everything falls into place are something we all think about. And when that moment does happen? It’s pure heaven…

They are NOT the Black Eyed Peas!!! Mostly because they don’t have a Fergie to look at…

3. Far East Movement – “Don’t Look Now” (dance)
With a huge hit under their belt (Fly Like A G6), this band made some big waves this year with a great dance album. This song is my personal favorite. With Keri Hilson supplying a guest vocal, this song will eventually make it to pop radio…I promise.

2. John Butler Trio – “Close To You” (rock)
An awesome riff that takes you and shakes you and just won’t let go! This song is so damn good that it SHOULD be a tie for #1 because I love both of them so much. This is easily my most listened to track on my IPhone this year.

1. Trapt – “The Wind” (rock)
The only reason I’m taking this song over “Close To You” is for a simple reason…the lyrics. 2010 saw me all over the place, from one end of this country to the other, and this song is about how life can take you away and be exhausting and overwhelming at times. But at the same time, it opens up new doors and allows you to shine. I feel that way right now. And so that is why “The Wind” is MY favorite song of 2010.

1 Comment

  1. Music has a mystic manner of being able to take you instantly back to a specific place and time in your past
    I will definitely vote them, for one reason…. THEY’RE AWESOME

Leave a Reply

