Ear Nuggets: David Coverdale Screams & The Song Cranks In “Still Of The Night”

Dunno about you, but I love me some hair band 80’s rock and this quintessential track from the late 80’s (1987, to be exact) is what I’m talking about. With all the heat and sexual context of most songs of that decade, “Still Of The Night” is one of those songs that has an edge to it. The guitar work is classic, the drums bombastic and David Coverdale’s vocals screech with the best of them. Add to it that Coverdale used his then future wife, covergirl Tawny Kitaen, in the video and you got yourself one hot number.

The place that speaks to me as far as this song is concerned is at 3:55. The song has become a crawl. Coverdale has taken his vocals to a low growl and the music has slowed to a slow simmer. Then there’s what sounds like a violin builds to a crescendo and then…at 3:55…Coverdale lets out a guttural howl and the song picks up pace and you can almost feel the heat of the song as the guitar kicks in. The hair on my arm stands up every time I get to this part of the song. I don’t know what it is…whether its the energy or the guitar or the violin or what, but it’s a purely sexual sensation and Coverdale and the band take it and run with it.

“Still Of The Night” is easily one of my favorite tracks from that year and this ear nugget is one of the many reasons why. Well…that and for lyrics like this…

In the Still of the Night
I hear the wolf howl, honey
Sniffing around your door
In the Still of the Night
I feel my heart beating heavy
Telling me I gotta have more

Now I just wanna get close to you
An’ taste your love so sweet
An’ I just wanna make love to you
Feel your body heat

Yeah….that’s STILL kinda hot.And so is Tawny Kitaen.

Leave a Reply

