Tunes From ITunes_The Leaves Are Falling Mix

So Autumn has arrived in all her beauty. Leaves are scattering all over the ground and oranges, reds and yellows splash the Ohio Valley hills. I love this time of year and lately there has been some pretty damn good music coming out which makes my mood even brighter! Here are some tunes you should check out as soon as possible. You’ll see I’ve been in more of a rockin’ mood…which is ALWAYS a good thing…

Trapt – “The Wind” (rock)
Although I consider Trapt to be one of many bands that produce this kind of pop/rock sound, I kinda like Chris Taylor Brown’s voice and this track speaks to me lyrically. Consider the refrain…

Whichever way the wind blows
that’s where I’ll go
I can’t think about tomorrow.
Another road to the unknown
I will follow.
No more time left to borrow.”

I dig it!

Atomic Tom – “The Moment” (alternative)
Recalling the Psychedelic  Furs, this track is a throwback to the 80’s and, of course, I ALWAYS dig that. Good fall music…

10 Years – “Fix Me” (rock)
Slow tempo rocker from one of those OTHER bands that produces pop/rock. I know, I know…some consider it cheesy, but I grew up on hair bands so that love just sorta morphed into this. Sue me.

Kings Of Leon – “The Immortals” (rock)
Go read my review of the entire album here, but this is my favorite track. Love the guitar work and it’s got an arena rock sound I dig. Check it out!

Third Day – “Move” (ITunes calls it “Christian & Gospel.” I call it ROCK all the way!)
Yes…this IS a Christian rock band. Bluesy and sizzlin’ hot, THIS is the best track in this list. So f%$#in’ awesome (can I say that about a GOSPEL band???)!!! You should donwload it right now and it WILL be one of my favorite tracks this year.

Mark Ronson & The Business Intl – “Somebody To Love Me” (pop)
Pairing up with Culture Club lead singer Boy George, this DJ turned entertainer puts out an album and off it comes this gem.  You can also download “Bang Bang Bang” but this is my favorite of the two.

Zac Brown Band – “Keep Me In Mind” (country)
I like it when I come upon a sweet little country song about love and longing. This track is perfect for that. And it should be a monster country hit. Let’s wait and see….

Group 1 Crew – Live It Up (pop)
My kids like this track. Sounds sort of standard bfor pop fair these days but there’s nothing wrong with it. It’s poppy and over-produced but entertaining none the less.

Pink – “Raise Your Glass” (pop)
Its all over the radio and I’m sure I’ll get sick of it soon but for now, it seems like Pink has herself another hit song!

Far East Movement – “Don’t Look Now” (pop/dance)
Right now this band has a super hit in it’s “Like A G6” single, but I predict this one is gonna follow it up as soon as the hype dies down. This is a better track but in the same vein. You’ll be shakin’ your butt…promise.

Idlewild – “Post Electric” (rock)
This Scottish band has been around for a while but I really don’t know much about them. This track is off their new album called “”Post Electric Blues.” Great song and I will look into this band a little bit more and get back to ya…

Shakira – “Rabiosa” (dance)
Um…I know I’m gonna raise a few eyebrows with this one but Shakira (which means “loose booty” in spanish) has got somethin’ here. Teaming up with Pitbull helps and this track is undeniably catchy. Seriously.

Hinder – “All American Nightmare” (rock)
Something for Halloween maybe? Eh. I wouldn’t go that far. Truthfully…this is the worst track on this list. Seriously generic in every way. Sorry Hinder fans…

Trent Raznor – “A Familiar Taste” (instrumental rock)
An instrumental from the Nine Inch Nails lead singer that is featured on “The Social Network” soundtrack, this jam cranks it up a notch and rips you around with a throbbing house beat.  I also like the more subdued “Painted Sun In Abstract.”

CLASSIC OLDIE OF THE WEEK: INXS – “Elegantly Wasted”
I totally dig INXS and I heard this track on XM a few days ago and had to go get it. Featured on the 1997 album of the same name, this was Michael Hutchinson’s last hurrah with the band. Later that year he was found dead in a Sydney hotel room. The album only got to #41 on the American charts which is unfortunate. It has a lot of good songs but this is my favorite!

“SHE’S HAD HER MINUTE AND NOW SHE SHOULD RETIRE” ALBUM OF THE WEEK: Liz Phair – “Funstyle”
Don’t get me wrong…I LOVED me some Liz Phair back in the 90’s…especially “Whitechocolatespaceegg”…but listening to snippets of this new album made me wanna tear my eyes out. Or at least plug my ears. Seriously…not good at all. Dunno what happened to poor Liz. I imagine she is torn about what she wants to be. Is she alternative? Is she pop? Who knows. At this point she is listed in “Bargain Bin.” This one won’t even chart…

1 Comment

  1. I don’t care for All American Nightmare by Hinder either. I think they are a good band that has yet to reach their full potential. But I do like By the Way and The Life by them.

Leave a Reply

