Ear Nuggets: When Edge Plays The Blues In “Silver & Gold”

I make no bones about it…U2 is my favorite rock band. They have been for years. And one of my favorite tracks from their live album, “Rattle & Hum”, is “Silver & Gold”. It’s got meaningful lyrics and was written about a man in a shanty town outside of Johannesburg. A man who had lost faith in the peacemakers of the west. While they argue and….well…go listen to the song for yourself.

Anyway…at the 4:58 mark of this song that clocks in at 5:50 in length, Bono steps aside from the message and lets The Edge do his thing and it is a glorious guitar solo that makes the hair on my arm stand up. It’s classic U2 with a bombastic, guitar anthem sound and it just makes me want to grab my air guitar and get down. Check it out yourself and see if I lie. THIS moment is one of my personal, all-time favorite guitar solos…EVER.

Oh…and I’m going to see U2 in Seattle on June 20th. Anyone wanna join me?

1 Comment

  1. love it! and love U2! and love you too 🙂 p.s. I wanna go… whine… Seattle AND U2… JEALOUS.

Leave a Reply

