Tunes From ITunes_The Final Four Edition

It’s been a crazy March Madness and every team I was rooting for was knocked off in the regional semifinals. So to console myself, I went and downloaded a boatload of new music to make myself feel better. So guess who gets to reap the benefits of my splurging? You…of course! Anyway…here’s the hottest new music that I could find. Not all of them are 3-point buzzer beaters, but they sure make me smile when Ohio State & Kentucky are getting knocked off and my brackets are in flames…

Angels & Airwaves – “Shove” (alt-rock)
The first tune I throw on here isn’t even ON ITunes. Because I got it for free of the Angels & Airwaves website. They released their album “Love” for free on their website and this track is excellent!! I was a big fan before, but this entire album is chock full of excellent arena rock. Go get it while it’s free!

Snow Patrol – “Just Say Yes” (easy alternative)
I’ve been hearing this track on the radio (whenever they aren’t playing the same 4 Lady Gaga songs) and I really like it! And if you haven’t heard it on Top 40 radio yet, I’m pretty sure you can catch it on “Grey’s Anatomy” right…about…now…

Usher – “Hey Daddy” (R&B)
Ok…so the first time I heard this song was on Good Morning America and Usher was serenading 4 8-year old girls with his scantily-clad dancers shaking their asses. But that doesn’t take away from the fact that I enjoyed the song. It’s not his strongest single, but it’ll do.

Dum Dum Girls – “Everybody”s Out” (Rock)
With a fuzzy vocal that reminds me of  The Ravonettes, this band is a lot of fun. Almost makes me wanna get the Brill Cream, throw on my leather jacket and head down to the sock hop.

Melissa Auf der Maur – “Out Of Our Minds” (Rock)
It’s a slinky, sexy crawl of a song and it burns slowly. Think  female version of Jim Morrison. And you KNOW that’s kinda cool…

Young Money & Lloyd – “Bedrock” (Rap)
Yeah…it’s been out for a while. But I still kind of dig it. Only problem is…it’s way too long. Cut this baby down to 3:30 and it’s a classic. As it is, it’s still got an irresistable hook.

Paper Tongues – “Love Like You” (Rock)
Reminds me of Remy Zero a little. The lyrics of this track will appear to all the ladies out there. Also the song “Trinity” is the freebie of the week this week. Can’t go wrong there either…

Broken Bells – “The Mall & Misery” (Alternative)
This track will definitely be on my “Best Of” list next year. The guitar is what makes it special but this song steals a little from Lindsay Buckingham. And I like that. I plan on reviewing the entire album soon, but you can do worst than to download this track right now!

Plies – “She Got It Made” (Rap)
Stealing a hook from “Pina Colada Song”, you would think this would be hysterical, but really it’s a pretty good track! And it’s all about the love…and da money.

Slash – “By The Sword” (Rock)
I am totally looking forward to Slash’s entire album release. I really dig this song (even if it DOES sound like the White Stripes) and Wolfmother’s Andrew Stockdale wailing vocal just soars. Can’t wait to see what he does with other guest vocalists…

Outasight – Just buy the entire “Further” EP
It’s 6 tracks of awesomeness! I love every track from “Catch Me If You Can” having a slick, drawl and a thumping bass to “Better Late Than Never”, which SHOULD be a big hit. Download the whole thing. You won’t be sorry.

The Bird & The Bee – “Heard It On The Radio” (Pop)
ALthough the rest of the album is dedicated to Hall & Oates covers (???), this track is light and bouncy. I imagine it could be a hit if it’s released in the summertime. But probably not…

Mishka & Willie Nelson – “Homegrown” (Raggae)
I’m gonna give you 3 guesses what this song is about. Need help? Hmmmm…let’s see…it’s illegal, it’s sometimes grown out in the backyard carefully hidden and it’ll make you very happy. And with an appearance by Willie, ya GOTTA know it’s about the marijuana. It’s a hip little tune…perfect for those moments when you are partaking in…uh…in a cold beer?

The Watson Twins – “Modern Man” (Alternative)
What a sweet refrain and the voices are sent from heavan. Very easy to listen too and is cool like the flip side of the pillow. Oh yeah…I stole that. But it IS like that!

Kelis – “Acapella” (Dance)
Kelis returns after a long layoff (her last single “Milkshake” was released way back in 2003) and this song is standard dance track stuff.  But I kinda like her AND her voice and it will go great in a workout mix. Dunno if she is leaning more towards electronica, but this really doesn’t have a trace of R&B in it…

Holiday Shores – “Phones Don’t Feud” (Alternative)
This Los Angeles band has a strong buzz happening right now so I went to check them out. Not bad but I can’t say that it’s anything I consider special. It seems there are a lot of bands out right now doing similiar stuff. However they might be the greatest live band ever! I dunno. And this track IS kinda cool…

Beyonce – “Videophone” (Pop)
My speakers pretty much fog up everytime I play this track. So smoky & sexy, it makes my face turn red. Apparently there is a newer version with Lady Gaga making an appearance. For whatever reason, Beyonce & Gaga have teamed up for their 2 telephone songs. And ya know what…it works. This song is killer.

CLASSIC OLDIE OF THE WEEK: Cornelius Brothers & Sister Rose – “Treat Her Like A Lady”
Making an appearance on American Idol this week, rocker Lee took this and made it sounds modern and I HAD to go revisit it. With classic tracks like “Too Late To Turn Back Now” & “Bog Time Lover”, the Cornelius Brothers & Sister Rose are as smooth as R&B gets. This is an amazing classic that everyoe should know. If you’ve never heard it…go download it now!

Leave a Reply

