My Top 15 Favorite U2 Songs

No band touches my ears the way U2 does. I’ve only seen them in concert once, but it was my all-time favorite show. Their music is just built to soar! With Bono’s vocals, The Edge’s signature guitar-work, Adam Clayton’s bass and Larry Mullen, Jr’s consistant drumming, U2 has become the biggest band in the world…and for a reason. They are consistently great at what they do! So to celebrate my favorite band of all-time, I figured I would list my Top 10 favorite tracks. Except I couldn’t just go with 10…so I went with 15. Is that okay? And…here…we…go…

15. “Numb”
from “Zooropa” (1993)
It’s like an electronic orgy. The Edge actually does vocals on this one in a monotone voice. Different and kinda weird. Love it!

14. “Beautiful Day”
from “All That You Can’t Leave Behind” (2000)
I remember seeing the video and hearing the song for the first time on a plane heading to Seattle. Still reminds me of my favorite city.

13. “All I Want Is You”
from “Rattle & Hum” (1988)
I recall a buddy of mine singing this song for a girlfriend back in the OUZ studios in 1988. Still reminds me of him to this day.

12. “Until The End Of The World”
from “Actung Baby” (1991)
The Edge’s guitar work makes this track soar!

11. “The Fly”
from “Achtung Baby” (1991)
Awesome live!

10. “Silver & Gold”
from “Rattle & Hum” (1988)
When The Edge “plays the blues”, it gives me goosebumps…

9. “Vertigo”
from “How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb” (2004)
The video is awesome! And this song just rocks my world…

8. “Sunday Bloody Sunday”
from “War” (1983)
A signature classic. It NEVER gets old. And the opening drums could be the most famous opening to any U2 song…

7. “Breathe”
From “No Line On The Horizon” (2009)
My favorite track from last year’s excellent album!

6. “Red Hill Mining Town”
from “The Joshua Tree” (1987)
Just about anything off “The Joshua Tree” is excellent! But I picked this track because it doesn’t get much press and it’s a great song!

5. “Bad”
from “The Unforgettable Fire” (1984)
I’ve always loved how it builds and Bono’s vocals are awesome!

4. “Mysterious Ways”
from “Achtung Baby” (1991)
Love the skittish intro and this song reminds me of an old girlfriend.

3. “A Day Without Me”
from “Boy” (1980)
The first U2 track ever released off their debut album. Still one of their best…

2. “Bullet The Blue Sky”
from “The Joshua Tree” (1987)
Larry Mullen, Jr. drums his way into the musical war of this song.

1. “The Unforgettable Fire”
from “The Unforgettable Fire” (1984)
Love the lyrics. Love the imagery. Love the vocals. Love the 80’s sound. Don’t have a particular reason, but THIS is my all-time favorite song….ever.

Leave a Reply

