Phoenix’s “Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix”

Released: May 12, 2009 (Ghettoblaster)
Format: Pop Alternative

Critical darlings “Phoenix” return with their 4th album and this Grammy award-winning effort. Picked as the Best Alternative Album of 2009, I couldn’t just let it slide by how average I think this album is. And even after repeated listens, I just don’t see the appeal.

Not that this album isn’t without some good songs. On the contrary, the 2 singles that were released (the commercial pop sensation “1901” and “Lisztomania”) are quite good and easy to listen to. But the rest of the album is just average, not really breaking any new ground and retreading where their previous albums had already been. With tracks such as “Lasso”, “Girlfriend” & “Armistice” sounding all so familiar, I quickly lose track of which one is which and with Thomas Mars’ vocals, they almost blend into one another. Throw in “Rome” & “Countdown” and I was ready for a snooze. Maybe Mars’ voice just isn’t that interesting to me? I don’t know. But overall I found that most of this album just made me sleepy with other bands such as Vampire Weekend & Ok Go doing thisĀ genre more justice.

Tracks to download: 1901, Lisztomania, Love Like A Sunset Part I (instrumental), Fences

Rating: C-

Leave a Reply

